Days of Future Past

Since I’ve only just gotten round to creating a blog like the old technophobe I am, this is my first chance to express my fan girlish excitement over the various announcements about X-Men: Days of Future Past. Though one of my favourite X-Men story lines, I did initially wonder how the hell  they’re going to tackle straddling not only multiple time lines but also the whole alternative history shenanigans. However, Singer assured fans in an interview with Empire that:

We’ve cracked it in a way that it makes sense. I had a two-hour conversation with James Cameron about time travel, string theory, multiverses and all that. You have to create your rules and stick wtih them. That’s why Terminator and Back To The Future work so well. And there are certain mechanisms in X-Men, certain powers, perceptions and characters, that make this possible.

With this assurance from the man himself that it will be coherent, and I’m inclined to believe the man who navigated us through Usual Suspects, I was able to get more excited about the line up.

As if he hadn’t earned my whole-hearted admiration for slapping Joffrey, Peter Dinklage seems to just keep getting more and more awesome. Back in February Brian Singer confirmed that he would be joining the cast, although didn’t give any clues as to what character he would be playing. I for one am jumping on the “he’ll be a super villain” bandwagon, and my money is on Master Mold. In my opinion Singer would be clever to have one overruling “baddy”, someone to give a voice to the otherwise voiceless sentinels.

         140875-176517-master-mold_large

The next addition which excited me was that of Omar Sy, not so much because of the man himself but because of who he could be playing. And my money is on time-hopping mutant Bishop (though partly in the vain hope that someone will take on the Bishop/Gambit spin-off). In terms of script-writing, Bishop’s character would be useful for explaining the futuristic circumstances to the modern-day X-Men, what with being from the future and all, and would be an easier way to condense the complicated explanation. Character-wise though, he’s a memorable and bloody great character, and I for one would be very excited if Sy was filling this role.

           

Lastly, as if the cast and storyline weren’t enough to girlishly squeal over, Signer has been releasing tantalising pictures on Twitter. First of all he tweeted a picture of the wheelchairs of the young and old Professor X side by side, obviously a huge nod towards the inter-generational crossover. Secondly, and admittedly most excitingly for me, Singer tweeted a picture of the bare bones set of the subterranean corridor underneath the X-Mansion with the familiar circular door at the end of the corridor, soon to be adorned with a large X.

